Preferences

General Program Options

General Tab

Ask for confirmation before changing the wallpaper

When checked you will be asked if you want to allow the wallpaper to change when the timer fires.

Don't change wallpaper if screen is locked or screen saver is running

Tells AWC not to change the wallpaper if the screen is currently locked. The screen is considered to be locked both when the user explicitly sets it so and when the screen saver is running. Note that for versions of Windows before Windows 2000 the screen saver's Password protected check box must be checked for the screen to register as locked.

If you are going to use the AWC screen saver you should turn this setting off or the screen saver will never change the image.

Don't change wallpaper if a full screen program is running in the foreground

If there is a video or game running when AWC changes the wallpaper, the high CPU use as the image is processed can cause it to 'stutter' or lag. This setting tells AWC not to change the wallpaper if there is a program running in full screen mode and that program is currently the one that the user is on. On systems with a single monitor attached any full screen program is likely to be the one in the foreground but on multiple monitor systems there may be a video running on one monitor and, say, a stock ticker running on the other. If the user clicks on the video it will become the foreground window and AWC will not change the wallpaper. If he clicks on the stock ticker, that will become the foreground window and AWC will assume that the video is no longer the focus of the user's attention and that it is safe to change the wallpaper.

Don't request confirmation when deleting a file

Normally you are asked to confirm that you want to delete a file and have to click a button to continue. Setting this option means that you are not prompted and the file is simply moved to the Recycle Bin.

Please note that Windows does not use the Recycle Bin when deleting files stored on network drives, it just deletes them permanently. This is a limitation of Windows itself not AWC.

Rotate picture according to EXIF orientation flag

The EXIF standard specifies a means of storing additional information about an image in the image file itself. This is typically used by modern digital cameras to record data such as date and time etc. Many of the cameras can also detect their orientation when taking a picture (portrait, landscape etc.) and record it in the EXIF orientation tag. Checking this checkbox makes AWC read the orientation field and automatically rotate the image so that it is displayed correctly on screen.

Save preferences on exit or when loading a new theme

Normally you have to click the save button to permanently save any changes you have made to your settings. This option causes AWC to automatically save your settings when you close it or if you load a new theme.

Use file's modified date for filtering and date display

By default AWC uses the date a file was created on disk when it is filtering or displaying date information. This setting allows you to use the date the file was modified instead. Contrary to what you might expect the modified date is often earlier that the created date because the file may have been physically changed six months ago but only moved to its current location (created) last week.

Folder View Only Tab

The next few settings only apply when in Folder View. This is because they are only relevant to operations that are performed when AWC is picking files for you rather than you added the files you want to see to the list yourself.

Ensure that each picture is displayed only once

AWC builds a list of files to display in memory and then selects them at random. This means that you may start to see some images repeated before others have been shown even once. If this option is set then AWC will ensure that each image is displayed only once. When all the images have been displayed you are prompted to restart or change your list.

Preserve file list between sessions

Usually used in conjunction with the setting above, this option causes the current set of images that remain to be displayed to be saved to disk so that it can be loaded next time AWC starts up. This ensures that, if only half the images in your list have been displayed before you shut down, the next time you run AWC only those that have not been displayed yet will be loaded back into memory. This ensures that you will get to see all your images before they repeat, even across sessions.

Check the selected folders for new files on each change

Enabling this setting will cause the AWC to check your selected source folders for any newly added files on each change of the wallpaper. Use with caution as very large lists of files could have an impact on slower PCs' performance.

Note that Windows stores a number of dates against a file: by default it is the 'Created date' that is used when checking for new. You can change this to use the 'Modified date' instead by checking the Use file's modified date option.

Restart if a file in the current list is not found (deleted or moved)

In normal operation AWC will generate a file not found message if one of the files in the list of available pictures is deleted from the source folder after starting the change process and the picture is then selected for display. Restart On Not Found allows you to prevent the error message being displayed by forcing a restart of the change process instead. The current settings are used. Note that a restart will mean that the No Repeats history is reset.

Restart when all the current files have been displayed

When checked AWC will reset its file list when there are no files left in the current list. Normally a message is displayed to tell the user that all files have been shown.

Image Editor Tab

Specify image editor

By default, if you select Open for editing from the Edit menu, the current file will be opened in the application associated with the file's extension in Windows. Here you can specify that your preferred editor should be used instead. Note that this override applies to all file extensions.

Refresh wallpaper after editing is completed

When checked, AWC will redisplay the edited image on the desktop when you have finished editing. The editing session is deemed to be finished when you close the program you used to do the editing. Note that this option is not available if do not specify an image editing program and simply rely on the default association for the file.

Ignore editor and just open the file's folder instead

If this option is set then rather than opening the file in an image editor, Windows Explorer will be opened in the file's location and the file highlighted.

Clear Desktop Tab

Pause the change process if the desktop is cleared

This ensures that if the user clicks on the Clear the desktop menu item, the change process will be paused and will not display another image before the user is ready.

Clearing Options

There are three options that you can select to occur when AWC is instructed to clear the desktop:

Show Plain Desktop simply means that the wallpaper is removed and the desktop background is cleared to the plain colour that is specified in Windows own settings.

Restore original wallpaper causes AWC to clear its own wallpaper and reinstate whatever wallpaper was already displayed by Windows when the program was started. Please note that if the original wallpaper was one that had been set by running AWC in the past that original wallpaper cannot be reinstated as the file will have been overwritten by the current instance of AWC.

Display a saved snapshot causes AWC to remove the current wallpaper and replace it with a snapshot of a previous desktop that was saved by clicking the button labeled Take a desktop snapshot now. Note that only one snapshot can be saved per user and is therefore shared by all themes.

Causes the desktop wallpaper that was displayed before AWC started to be redisplayed. Also known as here comes the boss mode. Please note that if the previous wallpaper was one that had been set by AWC in a previous session the original wallpaper will not be restored as the original wallpaper file will have been overwritten by the current one.

Clear the AWC desktop when the program is closed

Indicates that the desktop wallpaper should be cleared when exiting from AWC.